10
Sep
09

Day One Blog – Off the Road

OK – My first blog and I am already pressed for time, so hear goes. I was driving home yesterday and just about got run off the road. Maybe it was “just race’n” as they say in NASCAR, but it reminded me that it’s my responsibilty to watch out for others on the road.

I did everything I could to get the women’s attention, blew my horn, tried to make eye contact, that didn’t work she never bothered to look to her right or she’d have seen me. By now I’m fully in the emergency lane and trying to stay off the retainer wall, as she drives comfortably down the road in the lane that was mine at one time. Finally she goes by and I ease back onto I-59 from the emergency lane.

So, what is the best way to respond to distracted drivers? Well, once you spot one try to maintain a safe distance from them. Slow down, let them go around you by gradually decreasing your speed or move to the right if conditions allow and let the distracted driver pass.

Try to establish eye contact as this may help make them aware of your presence. No hand gestures please, unless it’s a friendly wave. You are just trying to wake them up.

If all else fails you may need to pull over in a safe place and just let them go by you.

Down The Road – Mike

0 Responses to “Day One Blog – Off the Road”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Twitter


